Washington Special Olympics coming to KC Aquatic Center today


The Mirror

The biggest event in the Special Olympics in the state of Washington kicks off today at Federal Way’s King County Aquatic Center, Fort Lewis and McChord Air Force Base.

The 2006 Washington Special Olympics Summer Games will include 2,300 athletes, 550 coaches, 2,500 volunteers and more than 3,000 family members and friends today and tomorrow. The track and field events will be held at Fort Lewis and the swimming events will be held at the Aquatic Center.

Swimming will kick off at 9 a.m. tomorrow and run to 4:30 p.m. On Sunday, competition will run from 9 a.m. to noon.

The Federal Way Flounders swim team will bring several athletes to Saturday’s 2006 Washington Summer Games swimming event inside the King County Aquatic Center.

The Flounders squad will include 19-year-old Nichelle Cruz, Kayla Cushing (13), Danette Dobson (50), Jesse Duncan (13), Megan Dunn (15), Giovanna Forguson (18), Cherri Johnson (52), Frank Lemieux (47), Allison Stevenson (23), Melissa Thompson (13), Dennis Vandelac (59) and Jesse Whitehouse (34). The Flounders are coached by Brian Pitt.

Federal Way will also be represented in the track and field competition at Fort Lewis on Saturday and Sunday.

The Federal Way Schools Track Stars will include Micah Birgenheier (13), Wille Blockson (11), Andrew Criscione (18), Gareth Doherty (17), Bradley Gorgen (14), Annie Isaacson (16), Wayne Kuang (10) and Troy Marsh (16). The track and field team is coached by Donna Hoffman.

Federal Way will also be well-represented in the soccer competition during the Summer Games this weekend. The City of Federal Way Trojens will include Kimberly Bench (33), Christopher Ellis (22), Kori Fitzpatrick (31), Marcel Foster (24), Erin Moore (22), Joey Muchison (38), Patricia Reza (23), Vicki Ruchalski (22) and John Steinmetz (43). The Trojens are coached by Larry Moore.

The Federal Way Schools Stars 1 team will include Cory Dempsey (15), John K. Emmett (14), Jowell Francia-Figueras (9), Cody Peterson (12), Keoni Aparis (9), Keenan Curran (10) and Gerald Freeman (10). The team is coached by Terry Boyle.

The Federal Way Schools Stars 2 team will include William Brown (12), Vicent Corrado (10), Logan Foraker (10), Laura Gorgen (11), Loren Kodimer (11), Corey Nettles (11), Alex Proby (11), David Proby (11) and Christopher Roddick (8). They are coached by Sharon Boyle.

The Federal Way Schools Stars 3 team includes Ivette Estrada (15), Eric Garber (14), Jonathan Jacobi (16), Michael Lee (17), Jocob Lofdahl (18), Ariana Murphy-Turchiano (15) and Alan Quach (12). The team is coached by Kline Wright.

Sports editor Casey Olson: 925-5565,

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates