FW youth soccer teams aim for championships

Four youth soccer teams from the Federal Way Soccer Association were up for state championships this weekend and last weekend.

Last weekend, the Federal Way United Storm 83, a boys U18 team coached by Ralph Black, came up just short in their attempt at a state championship. The Storm lost 2-1 to FC United 83 of the Tacoma Pierce County Junior Soccer Association in the Snickers Championship Cup finals last Sunday at Edmonds Stadium.

The Federal Way United Galaxy didn’t fare much better. The Galaxy, a boys U16 team, lost 3-1 to the YMCA Fiorintina in the state finals of the Fred Meyer Commissioners’ Cup, last Saturday at Civic Stadium in Bellingham.

Galaxy team members include Brian Kemp, Travis Hoeft, Joel Turley, Jacob Fiorina, Leik Withrow, Jesse Clark, Luke Johnson, Jacob Riddiough, Tom Harris, Michael White, Chris Corliss, Gianpaolo Boccato, Tristyn Rowlan, Derek Bray, Tadao Garrett, Joe Oxos and Matt Backey.

Two more teams from the Federal Way Soccer Association will try to do better this weekend.

The Federal Way United Storm 90, a boys U11 team, was to play at 9 a.m. today against the Wolves of the CYSF in the state finals of the Fred Meyer Commissioners’ Cup at Civic Stadium in Bellingham.

“We got lucky and had a good year,” said coach Scott Rowe. “It’s a brand new team and U11 is the first chance we get to go to the tournament. It’s a nice way to start.”

The team finished second in its league during the regular season.

“They decided to play very good soccer when it counted,” Rowe said. “They’re great individual players. They’ve got good skills and they like to win.”

Storm team members include Connor Lamoureux, Cody Harris, Kelyn Rowe, Michael Sigafoos, Kylle Ashton, Jason Minerich, Tyson Sykes, Jordan Hibbard, Chris Miller, Tommy Osborn, Derek Hawn, Dalton Thomas, Dominic Ricciardelli, Ryan Curtis, Jordan Hale, Zach Allen and Tim Hawley.

The Federal Way United Elite, a girls U12 team, plays at 1 p.m. today against the Blasters of the Yakima Youth Soccer Association in the state finals of the Fred Meyer Commissioners’ Cup in Bellingham.

So far in the state finals, which started out with 23 teams, the Elite have allowed only one goal scored against them.

“I think it’s the camaraderie between the players,” coach Mary Niemela said as the reason for the team’s success. “They’re very close and do a lot of things together. They’re pumped. They want to win it.”

Team members include Lindsey Bright, Ashley Brough, Briana D’Aguiar, Krista Foster, Christina Gonzales, Olivia Lee, Nicole Mills, Mallory Murray, Shelby Niemela, Brittney Palmore, Julie Patton, Stacie Smith, Kimberly Streetmatter, Kaitlin Thomas, Kelly Watts and Stephanie Vander Woude.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates