Updates on judicial, city council, school board and fire board candidates in Federal Way

Federal Way Municipal Court Presiding Judge Michael Morgan and Judge Dave Larson have both filed for re-election to their positions with the court.

Morgan was elected in 2006. Larson was appointed by the city manager and city council in 2008 to replace Judge Colleen Hartl, who resigned late 2007.

Mark Knapp, James A. Santucci, Matthew York, Rebecca C. Robertson and Williams Jarvis have announced their intentions to run against Morgan. Renee Walls will run against Larson.

Neither judge has collected any campaign contributions, according to the Public Disclosure Commission Web site, The filing period began May 18, when candidates could begin filing by mail. In-person filing began Monday. Prospective candidates had until Friday, June 5, to file to run for an elected position.

City council

Positions 2, 4 and 6 for city council seats are also up for grabs this year. Incumbents Linda Kochmar and Jeanne Burbidge — currently holding Position 2 and Position 4, respectively — have filed for re-election. Burbidge has collected $6,215 in contributions, according to the PDC site. Kochmar has collected $3,511, according to Sonia Sciscente will run against Kochmar. Mike Peterson will run against Burbidge.

Deputy mayor Eric Faison, who holds Position 6, announced last month he does not plan to run for re-election. David St. John, Diana Noble-Gulliford, Roger Freeman, Troy J. Smith and Lorie Wood will run for the position.

School board

Positions 1, 4 and 5 are up for re-election. Tony Moore was appointed to position 5 on May 13, 2008, to replace Dave Larson, who left to become a judge. After filling out the remainder of Larson’s term, Moore is running unopposed for election.

Angela Griffin, who replaced former board member Tom Madden on June 25, is also now running for her position. She will face Steve Skipper, who ran for the position in 1997, when he lost to Jim Storvick.

Ed Barney is once again running for the school board. Barney was first elected in 2001. He will be running against Bill Pirkle, who has never run for public office.

Fire board

The South King Fire and Rescue board of commissioners will drop one position to get back to five, a move that was decided in 2006 when South King and Des Moines fire departments combined. At the time of the merger, there were three Des Moines commissioners and five South King commissioners.

Current fire commissioner Mark Freitas is running unopposed for his position. However, for position 3, current commissioners Jerry Harris and Roger Hershey are running, as is John Rickert, a former commissioner. Rickert, a former firefighter, has been away from the board for about a year.

Lakehaven Utility District

On May 28, the Lakehaven Utility District’s Board of Commissioners swore in Len Englund to fill the position formerly held by Bev Tweddle, who resigned in April due to health reasons. Englund was selected among nine applicants. He will be required to run for election in the fall to retain the remaining two years on Tweddle's six-year term. The position will be up for election for its regular six-year term in 2011. Englund works at the Boeing Company as a system administrator. He and his wife Sandra have two children.

Learn more

The primary election is slated for Aug. 18. Visit for more information on candidates.

Look for more coverage and information in upcoming issues of The Mirror.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates