Federal Way City Council members sworn in; public ceremony Jan. 7 | Slideshow

The city of Federal Way invites the public to its Jan. 7 meeting, to be part of the swearing in of Mayor Jim Ferrell and council members Jeanne Burbidge, Kelly Maloney and Martin Moore.

The meeting begins at 7 p.m. and will be held in Council Chambers at City Hall (33325 Eighth Ave. S.). The city clerk officially swore in the trio on Monday before their terms officially start on Jan. 1, 2014. But the city is having this small ceremony to “provide the public an opportunity to participate,” according to the city.

Ferrell was elected to a four-year term that runs until Dec. 31, 2017. The Council will appoint a replacement to serve the remainder of his term for his vacant position, which runs until Dec. 31, 2015.

Photos by Bruce Honda.

Correction: The original post did not include Councilmember Jeanne Burbidge. The Mirror strives for accuracy and regrets the error.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates