Tom Murphy Scholarship recipients announced

Four high school seniors were honored this year as the first recipients of the new annual Thomas Murphy Academic Inspirational Scholarship. The scholarship reflects outgoing Superintendent Murphy’s unwavering commitment to “all means all,” and recognizes students who have overcome obstacles in their life to become academically successful.

This year’s scholarship winners were Angela Ros (Decatur High School), Jamarkus Springfield (Todd Beamer High School), Deshawn Williams (Federal Way High School) and Anna Tran (Thomas Jefferson High School). Each student received a $500 award, made possible by the Association of Federal Way School Principals.

Each student shared his or her personal experiences, including exposure to gangs and violence, growing up without a mother, and facing family financial hardships requiring them to work to help their family survive.

The Thomas Murphy Academic Inspirational Scholarship will be awarded annually to one high school senior from each of Federal Way’s four major high schools. Recipients will be chosen from among three applicants who are recommended by the school’s principal.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates