Advancing Leadership class of 2009

Advancing Leadership class of 2009 - Courtesy photo
Advancing Leadership class of 2009
— image credit: Courtesy photo

On Thursday, June 18, at the Courtyard by Marriott in Federal Way, 25 men and women graduated from the Federal Way Chamber of Commerce’s Advancing Leadership (AL) program. Graduates presented a program reflecting on their nine months of leadership development, the completion of their community project and how they will use their training going forward. They were joined by a standing room only audience of Advancing Leadership sponsors, board directors and alumni, local leaders, family and friends, and the 2009-10 incoming class.

AL 2009 graduates are: Ryan Alexander, Grace Lutheran Church; Ray Bunk, Federal Way Police Department; Debbie Burrill, Woodstone Credit Union; Patrice Cade, Valley Cities Counseling; Jennifer Cox, Multi-Service Center; Lora Dear, Valley Cities Counseling; Peter Dronzek, Federal Way Public Schools; Keven Dunn, Cadapult Design; Oksu Ellis, Community Leader; Debra Feammelli, Community Leader; Angela Griffin, Federal Way/Auburn YMCA and Federal Way School Board member; Dinah Herring, Comcast Cable; Steve Hopf, South King Fire and Rescue; Lynnette Hynden, City of Federal Way; Allegra Klett, Weyerhaeuser Company; Arlene Kozicki, St. Francis Hospital; Robin Lulich, Cascade Regional Blood Services; Beth Nolan, World Vision; Jason Prenovost, Highline Community College; Teniel Sabin, City of Federal Way; Mary Stevens, South King Fire and Rescue; Fei Tang, City of Federal Way; Michelle Thornburg, Vista Optical; Sid White, Federal Way Public Schools; and Lillian Yeh, City of Federal Way.

Advancing Leadership is an annual program designed to recruit, develop and inspire new local leaders. Since its inception, AL has graduated over 250 individuals who have gone on to lead in business, government, non-profit agencies and community programs. The 2008-2009 class was sponsored by the City of Federal Way, Comcast Foundation, Federal Way Public Schools, Highline Community College, St. Francis Hospital, T.O.T.E., Wal-mart, Weyerhaeuser Foundation, and Woodstone Credit Union.

For more information, visit or contact executive director Teri Hickel at or (253) 838-2605.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates